R. Neal Appleby Award - Nominations

Nomination Process for the R. Neal Appleby Outstanding Teacher Educator Award

The R. Neal Appleby Outstanding Teacher Educator Award is given each year by the New York State Association of Teacher Educators (NYSATE) to the teacher educator who possesses and exhibits characteristics by which his colleagues and friends remember Neal Appleby.  Neal was a Renaissance man who loved people, ideas, activity, and teaching.  He was a teacher educator who strove for the education of the whole student.  He was truly concerned with each student as a person.  Neal was a happy, warm, friendly, caring person who took time to talk with people; perhaps more importantly, he took time to listen.  His students spoke of him as that special kind of person who deeply loved teaching and who conveyed that love of teaching to all with whom he worked.

The award recognizes a person who has worked to nurture the intellectual, personal, and professional growth and development of teachers at various stages of their professional lives.  It is dedicated to the ideals by which Neal Appleby lived life as an educator of the highest order.

The past Appleby Award recipients are:

1993: Michael Babcock, Liverpool High School
1994: Gary DeBolt, SUNY Geneseo
1995: Carolyn Young, SUNY Oneonta
1996: Dennis Pataniczek, SUNY Brockport
1997: Mary Lynn Collins, Le Moyne College
1998*: Sr. Mildred Haipt, College of New Rochelle
1999: Thomas P. O'Brian, SUNY Binghamton
2000: Sarah Weidler,  Buffalo State College
2001: Dorit H. Kaufman, Stony Brook University
2002: David W. Hursh, University of Rochester
2003: Gerald M. Mager, Syracuse University
2004: Ralph H. Ware, Siena College
2005: Victor Madho, Lehman College
2006: Lucy DiPaola, Mount Saint Mary College
2007: Paul J. Vermette, Niagara University
2008: Annette D. Digby, Lincoln University
2009: Marcia Swiatek, Medialle College
2014: Margaret Egan, College of Mount Saint Vincent

* In 1998, the ATE "Standards for Teacher Educators" were first used to select the Appleby Award recipients. The seven standards are listed below and are also available on ATE's web site at www.ate1.org.


1. Models professional teaching practices which demonstrate knowledge, skills and attitudes reflecting best practice. 
2. Inquires into and contributes to one or more areas of scholarly activity that are related to teaching, learning and /or teacher education.   
3. Systematically inquires into and reflects on personal practice and demonstrates commitment to lifelong professional development.
4. Provides leadership in developing, implementing and evaluating programs for educating teachers that embrace diversity, are rigorous, relevant, and grounded in best practice.
5. Collaborates regularly with school, university, state education department, professional associations, and community representatives to improve teaching, learning and teacher education.
6. Serves as an informed and critically positive advocate for high quality education for every student, public understanding of educational issues, and excellence in teaching and the preparation of teachers.      
7. Contributes to improving the education profession.

Do you know an exceptionally effective teacher educator?
Consider whether you know an outstanding teacher educator from New York State who exemplifies these qualities. The individual need not be a member of NYSATE. Please nominate that individual, who can then be recognized by us all for her or his contributions to the development of teachers.

What do you need to do?
To nominate someone for this award, submit the following:
• A letter of nomination in which you detail why this person should be considered to the award;
• A resume or vita of the nominee; and
• Three additional letters of support.

Where do you send these materials?
Send your nominations to:

Illana R. Lane, Ph.D., Medaille College, Dean, School of Education, 18 Agassiz Circle, Buffalo, NY 14214

Nomination packets must be received by September 1 of the year of the nomination.